Finalists announced for 2012 ConnectedWorld.TV Awards

Creative broadcasters and independent producers and innovative technology companies and consumer electronics manufacturers feature among the finalists in the 2012 ConnectedWorld.TV Awards unveiled today by BPL Broadcast Ltd, the leading publisher and event organizer for the broadcast industry.

In association with the IBC Connected World, the ConnectedWorld.TV Awards celebrate the exciting developments in television and video consumption at the intersection of broadcast and broadband. 

The Awards will be presented to these pioneers in the business of ‘content everywhere’ at a gala dinner at the Hotel Okura Amsterdam on Monday 10 September, at the climax of IBC2012. 

“The quality of nearly 150 entries from 102 organisations in 23 countries has been phenomenal,” said Neil Nixon, chairman of the judging panel and editor of ConnectedWorld.TV and IBE. “The Connected World has moved on significantly since our inaugural Awards in 2011.”

Due to the tremendous interest and the exceptionally high quality of the entries from across the industry, some of the categories originally offered have been sub-divided in order to give more pioneering companies a chance to gain the recognition they deserve.

In alphabetical order, the shortlisted finalists by category are:

Content Awards acknowledge the most creative, imaginative and effective examples of online content

Best use of online video by a broadcaster 

This award recognises TV programmes that successfully exploit online content, information or interactivity to enrich the linear TV experience.

  • AEG Digital Media for GRAMMY Live
  • Cisco for GRAMMY Live
  •  Social Media Factory for Live in Chelsea
  •  Wiztivi for Amaguiz Interactive Commercials

Best use of online video by a non-broadcaster 

Open to any organisation with limited access to broadcast distribution this Award recognises how the Connected World has been successfully exploited to deliver multimedia and TV-style content to a defined target audience.

  • Angel Sharp for Oxford Today’s A year in the life of the boat race
  • The Football Association for FATV
  • Visual Unity for Topfun

Content Discovery Awards recognise how apps are helping viewers locate and access content of interest or gain an enhanced experience while watching TV.

Best native app for Connected TV

  • BBC iPlayer for TV
  • Dotscreen for Meteonews TV
  • Dotscreen for Les Zouzous
  • Easeltv for All3Media Connected TV app
  • ThinkAnalytics Search & Recommendation Engine
  • Viaccess-Orca for COMPASS

Best native app for a portable device

  • ANT Software for ANT Galio Move
  • Bianor for iMediaShare
  • Cognizant Technology Solutions for CHEER METER
  • Elgato for Eye TV Mobile
  • RTBF iPhone app
  • Think Analytics for Search Recommendation Engine
  • ZON Multimedia for Zon Online for iPad & iPhone

Best web app

  • Accedo for Accedo Connect
  • France Télévisions, with IBM and Novius
  • Moviri  for Contentwise
  • Showcaster for the Showcaster platform
  • Visual Unity for Topfun
  • ZON for ZON Online

Connected Consumer Awards acknowledge the companies, products and services that are enabling new content consumption experiences.

Connected home display device of the year

  • Cisco for ISB7005 wireless set-top-box
  • Dune HD for Dune HD TV-301
  • EchoStar for HDT-610R
  • Netgem for Viaplay
  • Vodafone D2 for Vodafone TV
  • Xstream for Jyllands-Posten

Connected home networking award

  • AirTies Wireless Networks for Air4742
  • Amino Communications for Amino Freedom Live
  • DLNA for DLNA Certified
  • Netgem for nCloud

Online video services of the year

  • Aspiro TV for Hybrid OTT
  • Bianor for iMediaShare
  • Central European Media Enterprises for Voyo
  • CJ Hellovision for tving
  • Tvinci for EpicTV
  • Visual Unity for Topfun

The Connected Industry Awards seek out the innovative technology companies who are providing the platforms and infrastructure that create the new and secure routes to market required for a sustainable connected content industry.

 The original Award for TV Service Delivery Platforms has been expanded into two sub-categories: 

  • Applications, techniques and toolsets that are giving rise to new business models
  • Services, platforms and architectures that are delivering these business models

TV service delivery – applications, techniques and toolsets

  • Mariner for frostt
  • Minerva Networks for iTVFusion 5
  • NAGRA for MediaLive OTT
  • QuickPlay Media for OpenVideo Platform
  • thePlatform for mpx
  • Vision247 for XtremeIPTV 

TV service delivery – services, platforms & architectures

  • Cisco for Videoscape
  • MobiTV for MobiTV TV Everywhere
  • MobiWorld Media for SPB TV
  • Nativ for MioEverywhere
  • Viaccess-Orca for its IPTV/OTT Service delivery platform
  • Xstream for MediaMaker

Content security

  • Civolution for NexGuard
  • NAGRA for NOCS3
  • NDS for VideoGuard Connect
  • Signiant for Media Shuttle
  • Verimatrix for VCAS           
  • Viaccess-Orca Video Content Security Solutions

Connected Content Technology Awards highlight the advances in the industry’s ability to manage, manipulate and present streamed and on-demand content.

The two categories offered originally have been sub-divided into five distinct sub-categories in order to give due recognition to the skills and ingenuity of engineers who are driving the industry forward.

New CDN networks & service delivery technologies

  • Broadpeak for nanoCDN
  • DVEO for Multistreamer
  • Harmonic for ProMedia
  • LiveU for the LU40i
  • MobiWorld Media for SPB TV
  • Vision247 for Freeview Connected TV
  • Yospace for Yospace CDS

Streaming technologies

  • Conviva for Precision Video
  • Edgeware for the Orbit 3020 video server
  • Encoding for
  • Haivision Network Video for KulaByte
  • Octoshape for its cloud-based streaming media technology
  • RGB Networks for TransAct Packger
  • Wowza Media for Media Server 3

Innovative workflow and platform solutions

  • Alcatel Lucent for Velocix
  • Digital Rapids for Kayak
  • Motorola SecureMedia for Encryptonite ONE HLS+
  • S3 Group for StormTest
  • Signiant for Managers+Agents
  • SmarDTV Cable VOD solution for connected TVs

Middleware & CPE Technology

  • Hillcrest Labs for Freespace MotionEngine
  • HTTV for httvBOX
  • Motama for RelayCaster
  • NAGRA for OpenTV
  • Penkiu Kontinentu Komunikacijos Centras  for IPTV.IQ
  • Qarva for Fast Channel Change

Interfaces, applications & browsers

  • Digitalsmiths for Seamless Discovery
  • Espial for TV Browser
  • Inview Technology for its EPG & media browser
  • Ocean Blue Software for Spinnaker User Interface
  • SoftAtHome for Operating Platform
  • MobiWorld Media for SPB TV

Technology breakthrough of the year

From the submissions in the Connected Industry and Connected Content Technology categories, judges were asked to nominate one entry that they feel could have the biggest impact on the business of content everywhere. 

The leading nominations were:

  • Arxan for its application and key protection solution
  • Hillcrest Labs for Freespace natural motion production line 
  • LiveU for LU40i 
  • Viaccess-Orca for Unified Svc Plat
  • Vision247 for XtremeIPTV
  • Yospace for Yospace CDS

Broadcaster of the year

The highest honour bestowed at the Awards, the ConnectedWorld.TV Broadcaster of the Year is awarded to the broadcaster considered to have done most to advance the concept of ‘content everywhere’ by demonstrating a clear vision of how the Connected World can complement traditional broadcast distribution.

  • BBC 
  • Central European Media Enterprises 
  • France Télévisions, with IBM and Novius
  • RTVE
  • Televised Revolution
  • ZON Multimedia